Books

I have started to notice people have such strong opinions over books and poems. And I mean in the terms if a poem is good or bad and if a book is a bad, or just simply put it’s silly and stupid, childish almost.

To start off, yes there are bad books in the world, ok well I dislike with calling any book “bad” and now thinking about it, I don’t think I’ve ever read a bad book. I have read books I pick up and then I put it down right away, but doesn’t mean it’s a bad book, it just simply means I had no connection with the book, it didn’t spark my interest, or simply put I’m not mature enough yet to appreciate the literature.

But I don’t think I’ve ever read through a book and labeled it as “bad.”

I don’t think a book can be bad, be childish, and not be worth reading.

Because to someone else that books means a lot to them, the message that work of literature gives them what they were looking for.

And I think some times we forget to think about the author. Someone put their heart and soul into that poem or that story. As someone who writes myself, I know I put a lot of myself into my stories, or like my friend Tina says, “Sally this story is your diary.” I think it’s extremely important to remember a story or a poem is someones art work and they put a lot of them-self into that story, or poem.

With that being said, I’m starting to dislike it more and more when I’m approach by people who have such strong convictions about a piece of literature. Especially if they haven’t even read the book to begin with. Because who are we to judge what is beautiful? The definition of beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder and for explain, you will look at a road and see nothing, but I will look at a road and it will bring back memories of when I saw my dog get hit by a car when I was seven.

Past experiences set us up, change how we feel and how we see the world, these memories shape are reading experiences. Shape what we like or dislike to spend time on.

Also I’ve become burden with the fact and understanding that people around me simply don’t like to read. And they have no problem telling me this and I really don’t understand this. For someone who has struggled for years with a learning disability, who use to pray to God to help me become a better reader, for someone like me who still struggles with understanding concepts of English, it baffles me when I meet so many people so turned off by reading or with such a small amount of books in their possession. And it baffles me even more when I met another writer, and they seem to know so little about the field, the community they claim to be apart of. Writers who don’t read always remind me of this quote,

“If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.”
― Stephen King

And I’m a firm believer you should read everything you can get your hands on, because thats how you learn, how you figure out what you want to write about.

I feel like you can only truly say you’re working at your craft if you taking in everything from it your craft.

It’s really becoming more and more of a turn off for me when people think it interests me how little of a book collection they have or how much they don’t like a certain kind of book, or they consider a book too mainstream, too fuzzy warm or not worth a read. This especially gets more irritating to me when these group of people not only have such a small collection of book, but next to those books they have a large collection of movies next to their nonexistent book collection. Which always reminds me how many of the films lined up in their collection were first a book, a story before they were filmed or drawn out. I think thats so interesting to look at it that way.

These are the moments I feel more and more like we could become a society like in the book Fahrenheit 451. I don’t think it could ever fully happen, because there are far too many writers and crazy English majors out there to let this happen but lets be real, Fahrenheit 451 has happened already a  little bit. It’s easier for me to list the people that read, then the ones that don’t. I think theres about less then 10 of my close friends who read more then two books a year, that aren’t a school mind you.

Maybe you should ask yourself what is your favorite book and if you don’t have one, not a single one, then you should start worrying.

I’ve become an endangered species, a person who likes to read books. Which cracks me up, because at the age of seven I couldn’t even sound out the word “book.”

I guess books and I just need to stick together

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Life, reading, thoughts, what is good or bad?

One response to “Books

  1. Loved the post. You’re sharp and cruel, but we need that.

Leave a Reply

