Doppelganger Dating

About a two months ago I was seeing this guy and when I say seeing, I mean “naked.”

He was a really nice guy, very midwestern though (yes, thats a type. I’m sorry, I’m from Southern California) But on that midwesterner note, it’s very funny to date out here, because of the accents.  I love peoples voices,  I love the different tones people have, and their own unique accent and vocal infections. I know this sounds all very weird, but for my job I know it becomes a huge strength of mine; that I pick up on peoples vocal tones. I swear I can point out your natural speaking pattern, tone, and at all if you sound like someone. For example, I was auditioning this girl for a performance and I told her see sounded like the girl from The Lovely Bones film, and I gave her lines from the book and well shit it as perfect. So with all that I love being out here because everyone seems to  have this unique medium to deep pitch somewhere in their vocal range.

Any ways back to this guy, lets call him Peeta. Like the fictional character from the hunger games Peeta, yeah that one. (Oh there is a reason why I use this name, but I’m just about to get to that, so hold on!)

I saw Peeta for about a month or so. It was fun, but it was definitely a rebound from my three year relationship that had just ended. But Peeta and I kind of ended on not so fun terms. Nothing bad or anything, just a huge miscommunication, that ended up with my feelings hurt, and I don’t even think he was the one that made me emotional, because I was already emotionally drained from my recent break-up.

But shit happened and I decided I couldn’t speak to him for a while, mainly because I really had liked him and everything. Really he was a very sweet guy and a gentlemen and was more of a man then most of all the guys I had seen in my past. But still I was emotional upset. You know, I ate the ice cream, only it wasn’t ice cream, it was more like I bought myself a party size bag of Reese pieces. And had a one night stand, and believe it or not, I’ve only had two one night stands in my whole life, this one and another one. (Those two stories will be for another time)

So after about a weekend, I was over everything, still a bit hurt, but like I said I’m pretty sure that was more pain I was feeling from being cheated on by my Ex.

But then about a month later my friend Tina and I decided to rent Hunger Games. I had just read through all the books and was super antsy to watch the movie. So since Paranormal Activity 4 was sold out, we decided to rent the movie.

Finally we get to the point of the movie where they are doing the reaping

I kept hearing how cute the actor who was playing Peeta was from my friends and to be honest I really liked him as a character in the books, I was always routing for him and Katniss to get together. I just really liked his character type, you know?

So then the character Effie Trinket (the one all dressed up and in the bright colors) calls out the boy tribute, “Peeta Mellark.”

Then they go to a big old screen shot of him.

And I say oh fuck. Yep, fuck my life Tina.

Tina: What?

Me: Who does Peeta look like to you?

Tina: OH FUCK! bahaahaha

Reaping: 

So for 142 minutes I had to watch Peeta Mellark, the actor, the character that looked like the guy I had been seeing. 142 is a really long time….Really long. Like all kinds of long.

Especially when Tina keeps saying through the whole movie, “Oh fuck,” and “I just can’t.”

Plus that like ruined the whole movie for me. I really had  like the character Peeta. Plus it didn’t help that I now felt like I had some short of a  sexual connection/tension with the actor playing Peeta. like we had hooked up and stuff. It was all kinds of weird, hot, and bothered.

So lesson learn: Be carful seeing someone that looks like a celebrity from a movie.

Which is funny because my friends all tell me I look like the actress from the 1976 Carrie film:

That’s definitely a Doppelganger that would make any man stay clear away.

Happy Hunger Games

May the odds always be in your favor

(Yeah, that’s just great)

Leave a comment

Filed under Dating, FML, Really Sally? SingleGirlProblems

Leave a Reply

